Posted by: donnakarlin | September 11, 2007

A Wonderful World

Years ago I wrote an article based on one of my favourite songs by Louis Armstrong. It came back to me yesterday, because I found myself deep in conversation about making sure we leave space in time to let the world in.  As fall approaches and the days get shorter, the leaves on the trees will start changing colour (though not just yet!) and falling to blanket the ground in fall colour. 

We seem to try to fit more in this time of year, run faster, get more started and sometimes forget there’s a world out there for us to enjoy if we just remember to pay attention.This simple song has so much meaning when he sings it. It seems to come from his soul. Gravelly voice and all, it brings a smile to my face every time I hear it. 

So today, in a quiet moment, I’ve been thinking of how blessed I am in my life and how wonderful this world really is. It’s more than the people, experiences and things I’m blessed with. It’s the subtleties…the things that are there all the time …..ones I have to remember to take notice of.  Sing along with me?

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world..

And as I sit here listening to these lyrics put to music, I’m reminded of one of those special things…music. A huge part of my life for most of it….from learning and soon after competing at the piano at the age of 4 to spreading my wings and exploring the world of percussion….to using music to touch lost souls in my work. People who’ve hidden away from the world for a long time, come to life when words of a song touch them to the core….faster than any words alone could.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

This really is an incredible world….filled with wonder if you open your eyes and see it. From the trees, to the sky, sun or cloud-filled…it doesn’t matter. Each is beautiful on its own. To rainbows that always seem to appear when you least expect them, both real ones and as a metaphor.

The colours of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shakin’ hands, sayin’ “How do you do?”
They’re really saying “I love you”

This time of year I remind myself not to take anything for granted, whether a moment of time, my friends’ time or a moment to myself, just to be and let this special world of ours in….waiting for who knows what to happen next..

I hear babies cryin’, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world
Yes, I think to myself, what a wonderful world

 ……………..(Lyrics by George Weiss / Bob Thiele) Oh yeah : )

—Donna Karlin

Responses

  1. I always preferred:

    “Give me a kiss to build a dream on
    And my imagination will thrive upon that kiss
    Sweetheart I ask no more than this
    A kiss to build a dream on”

    Cool song. Off topic, but cool song.

  2. Thank you! Remembering that song lifted my spirits and touched my heart.

    Jean Browman
    Cheerful Monk
    Transforming Stress Into Personal Power

  3. Hey Jean…I’m so glad! It’s one of those songs I can hear over and over again and each time it reminds me of what’s important in life.

    And no worries…I fixed the editing problem

    All the best…
    Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

